Reading list: March edition

I love to read. I like to balance a mix of fiction and non-fiction. I enjoy finding “random” books in cheap book sales (courtesy of the local library) and my online book club.

Today, I start a reading list page on this blog (see tab on upper-right hand corner), which I will update regularly. This is the March edition: a current snapshot of books in my past/present/future:

Currently reading:

  • Pacific Rims: Beermen Ballin’ in Flip-Flops and the Philippines’ Unlikely Love Affair with Basketball, by Rafe Bartholomew (2010)
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger (2003)

Plan to read:

  • White House Doctor: My Patients were Presidents, by Dr. Connie Mariano (2010)
  • Building a Bridge to the 18th Century: How the Past Can Improve Our Future, by Neil Postman (1999)
  • The Year of Pleasures, by Elizabeth Berg

Recently read:

  • the last time i saw you, by Elizabeth Berg [3 stars]
  • Amusing Ourselves to Death: Public Discourse in the Age of Show Business, by Neil Postman (1985) [5 stars]

Lastly, some thick books to plow through:

  • The Discoverers: A History of Man’s Search to Know His World and Himself, by Daniel J. Boorstin (1985)
  • In Our Image: America’s Empire in the Philippines, by Stanley Karnow (1990)

 

2 Comments on “Reading list: March edition”

  1. found 1 typographical error. says:

    Sorry for my bothering you again. But I found the same error. Her name is Dr. Connie Mariano
    , not Dr. Connie Mercado. Please correct this minor error again.

    • Thank you— I appreciate it very much. I’ve fixed the error here, as well as on my “Reading List” page. And I promise to get her name right when I write about her book!


Leave a Reply

